Guide to the Regions of France

Explore our comprehensive guide to the different regions of France, the largest country in Europe extending a thousand kilometres from north to south and from east to west. France is divided into thirteen regions, each with its unique character, history, landscape, traditions and specialities. To learn about a specific French region and its departments, click on your chosen area on the map:

This diversity is what makes France a unique destination with such a variety of choices. The country is divided into several counties called départments, with each region comprising of multiple départments. France has 96 départments which are identified by their first two digits and used for administrative and postal purposes. If you are searching for a specific property type in a particular area, please let us know your criteria.