Learn about the Nouvelle-Aquitaine region

locations map
Haults-de-France Normandie Bretagne lle-de-france Pays dela Loire Centre-Val de Loire Bourgogne-Franche-Comte Nouvelle-Aquitaine Provence-Alpes-Cote DAzur Occitanie Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes grand-est

Nouvelle Aquitaine, the Oceanic side with mountains and Bordeaux, the capital city

The Nouvelle Aquitaine consists of the former regions of Aquitaine, Poitou Charente and Limousin, all merged into a new and very large one! Think about this region as ‘the South West by the Ocean’, bordered at the south by the Pyrénées mountains and the atlantic coast to the west.

This area usually enjoys warm winters, four genuine seasons, it can be wet in some places because of the influence of the gulf stream, the ocean and the mountains to the south, but it enjoys plenty of sunshine in the summer.

It is famous for the Pyrénées, its classic food and specialities, slower pace of life, the classic stone properties and mansions, sandy beaches perfect for surfers and mountains for skiers, all easily accessible thanks to a good choice of international airports (Bergerac, Bordeaux, Pau, ...) and train stations.

The Nouvelle Aquitaine region is composed of twelve departments, including the Dordogne, Charente, Gironde, Lot-et-Garonne and Pyrénées-Atlantiques, just to name a few departments, each with it’s own traditions, culture and history. The capital city of the Nouvelle Aquitaine region is Bordeaux, the other main cities of this region are Périgueux, Bergerac, Limoges, Angouleme, Agen, Pau, Mont de Marsan, Arcachon.

Other popular towns for French living include Cognac, Eymet, Villeneuve sur Lot, Jarnac or Condom. Click on the links on the left to learn about each department and see details of properties for sale in that department.

Properties in Nouvelle Aquitaine

€464,720 incl. estate agent’s fee
House for Sale
Mouzens, Dordogne, Nouvelle Aquitaine
  • 7 Beds
  • 0.71 ha
€249,948 incl. estate agent’s fee
House for Sale
A Cote De Nere, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle Aquitaine
  • 4 Beds
  • 1 Bath
  • 0.21 ha
€464,000 incl. estate agent’s fee
House for Sale
St Cyprien, Dordogne, Nouvelle Aquitaine
  • 3 Beds
  • 3 Baths
  • 2.96 ha

The Key To Your French Dream

By working with us, you’ve got the best chance of finding and buying the perfect French property. But don’t just take our word for it; here’s what Mrs Bauer from The Sunday Times said about us:
my-french-house.com is the Best Internet Guide to Buying a House in France I found - and I trawled them all. I recommend them as a first stop for anyone thinking of looking for property for sale in France.