Learn about the French Department of Indre

Indre is a department in central France named after the river Indre, it is part of the current region of Centre-Val de Loire and is surrounded by the departments of Indre-et-Loire, Loir-et-Cher, Cher, Creuse, Vienne, and Haute-Vienne. The préfecture (capital) is Châteauroux and there are three sub-préfectures at Le Blanc, La Châtre and Issoudun. Indre is one of the original 83 departments created during the French Revolution in March 1790, by order of the National Constituent Assembly. The new departments were to be uniformly administered and approximately equal in size and population to one another. The department was created from parts of the former provinces of Berry, Orléanais, La…
1 properties available
  • Use the draw map tool to search in specific areas
  • list
€344,500 incl. estate agent's fee
House for Sale
Neuvy-Saint-Sépulchre, Indre, Loire Valley
  • 4 Beds
  • 0.39 ha
Regional Information
Latest Tweet